What's new with Team TTO

July 07, 2020

A sports-base approach is needed to help the youth

Last week, Trinidad and Tobago faced its own Black Lives Matter (BLM) day of reckoning.…
July 07, 2020

CANOC President calls for IOC to rescind life bans issued to athletes 48 years after…

Caribbean National Olympic Committees (CANOC) President Brian Lewis has called for the International Olympic Committee…
July 04, 2020

Matthews and Collett Banned From Olympics

MUNICH, West Germany, Sept. 8 — The International Olympic Committee barred today two United States…
July 04, 2020

Vincent Matthews and Wayne Collett: A Most Casual Protest With Most Striking Consequences

They stood there casually, one barefoot, hands on hips, the other in thoughtful repose, right…
July 04, 2020

Athletes Will Be Banned From Protesting at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics. But the Games Have…

The International Olympic Committee (IOC) announced new guidelines on Thursday that ban athletes from making…
July 04, 2020


The IOC stands for non-discrimination as one of the founding pillars of the Olympic Movement,…
July 01, 2020

Lewis highlights racial discrimination and gender inequality in sports

"Olympic Order is the Olympic Movement highest award for distinguished contributions to sports. The list…

Tokyo 2021 #1YearToGo

Logo TOKYO 2020 International Olympic Committee
Logo Omega Offical Timekeeper

Cartan Global | Tokyo 2021

Welcome to the Olympic Channel Live

Team TTO on Facebook

Team TTO on Twitter

TeamTTO Transformational Leadership Webinar Pt. 2 with the Head of open Campus Academy of Sport, UWI Kervin Jean… https://t.co/zWbk6HZg9j
About 10 hours ago
RT @igcanoc: CANOC President Brian Lewis has called for the International Olympic Committee (IOC) to reinstate two African American athlet…
About 10 hours ago
Check out 🥊Becoming A Boxer🥊 with coach Reynold Cox 😎 TeamTTO Boxing athlete sport Move Learn Discover… https://t.co/TXu62uvVby
About 22 hours ago
Fists of Freedom https://t.co/5rcGqJr3dD
Monday, 06 July 2020 21:57

TeamTTO on Instagram



SWIMMER DYLAN Carter and chess player Javanna Smith won the respective Male and Female Personalities of the Year accolades on Friday.

The duo was named as the top individual performers at the fifth annual First Citizens Sports Foundation Youth Awards held at the Ballroom, Hyatt Regency Hotel, Port of Spain.

Carter, currently enrolled at the University of Southern California in the United States, earned a pair of medals at the Youth Olympic Games in Nanjing, China.

He took silver in the men’s 50-metre butterfly in 23.81 seconds and then got bronze in the men’s 50m freestyle in 22.53 seconds.

Speaking to the audience live via Skype, Carter noted, “thanks to God, my parents, my coaches, everybody who supported me to get this far. It’s a surreal feeling.”

Smith became the first Trinidad and Tobago female FIDE Master when she placed third in the women’s category at the Central American and Caribbean (CAC) Under-20 Championships in Costa Rica.

The top 10 personalities for 2014 were also revealed – Carter, Smith, Naim Mohammed (badminton), Sachin Kumar (golf), Kristin Julien (swimming), Joshua Johnson (chess), Jeminise Parris (track and field), Kollyn St George (cycling), Akanni Hislop (track and field) and Akil Campbell (cycling).

A total of 39 persons – 22 male and 17 female – were vying for the coveted awards – Male and Female Personalities of the Year.

Top 10: Kristin Julien (swimming), Akanni Hislop (athletics), Sachin Kumar (golf), Kollyn St George (cycling), Dylan Carter (swimming), Jeminise Parris (athletics), Javanna Smith (chess), Joshua Johnson (chess), Akil Campbell (cycling), Naim Mohammed (badminton).