What's new with Team TTO

July 04, 2020

Matthews and Collett Banned From Olympics

MUNICH, West Germany, Sept. 8 — The International Olympic Committee barred today two United States…
July 04, 2020

Vincent Matthews and Wayne Collett: A Most Casual Protest With Most Striking Consequences

They stood there casually, one barefoot, hands on hips, the other in thoughtful repose, right…
July 04, 2020

Athletes Will Be Banned From Protesting at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics. But the Games Have…

The International Olympic Committee (IOC) announced new guidelines on Thursday that ban athletes from making…
July 04, 2020


The IOC stands for non-discrimination as one of the founding pillars of the Olympic Movement,…
July 01, 2020

Lewis highlights racial discrimination and gender inequality in sports

"Olympic Order is the Olympic Movement highest award for distinguished contributions to sports. The list…
June 29, 2020

Black Lives Matter movement brings ex-IOC President Brundage under new scrutiny

When the Olympic Games were last held in Tokyo, American multi-millionaire Avery Brundage was President…
June 27, 2020

Opinion: Equality still remains an elusive goal

My professional life has been defined by three principles: excellence, integrity, equality. They were bred…

Tokyo 2021 #1YearToGo

Logo TOKYO 2020 International Olympic Committee
Logo Omega Offical Timekeeper

Cartan Global | Tokyo 2021

Welcome to the Olympic Channel Live

Team TTO on Facebook

Team TTO on Twitter

Vincent Matthews and Wayne Collett: A Most Casual Protest With Most Striking Consequences https://t.co/KBV4TV5dm1
Less than a minute ago
Athletes Will Be Banned From Protesting at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics. But the Games Have a Long History of Political… https://t.co/gVIY0fZt5q
Less than a minute ago
Less than a minute ago
Lewis highlights racial discrimination and gender inequality in sports https://t.co/kBo4RRlsZW
Thursday, 02 July 2020 20:58

TeamTTO on Instagram



T&T men’s beach volleyball will begin their long journey towards qualification to next year’s Rio Olympics Beach Volleyball Tournament when the T&T Volleyball Federation plays host to the Caribbean Zonal Volleyball Association Tournament, a first round qualifying event to the NORCECA Continental Cup. The three-day event serves off  at the National Development Centre, Saith Park, Chaguanas from today until Sunday from 9.30 am daily.

The tournament will feature  28 teams of  two men’s teams each from Aruba, Barbados, Bahamas, Bonaire, Cayman Islands, Curacao, Guadeloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Suriname, Turks & Caicos, US Virgin Islands and host T&T. T&T will be represented by recent ninth placed finishers in the 2015 NORCECA Beach Circuit Tour opener in Cayman Islands, in Fabien Whitfield and Daneil Williams, and its B-team of Tevin Joseph and Josiah Eccles.

Williams and Whitfield had qualified to compete in Cayman Islands without dropping a match or set in the first phase of the T&TVF’s five qualifying tournaments. The pair then played unbeaten in the second phase of qualifiers, four tournaments, as well, between March/April to get the nod for the Pan American Games carded for Canada in July.

The run of nine straight competition wins by the Toco-born duo tied the feat set by women’s pair, Ayana Dyette and Nancy Joseph, achieved between last year and the opening tournament of this season. Eccles and Joseph were runners-up in the local qualifiers to earn the other T&T team spot. Speaking following a training session at the tournament venue, yesterday, national coach David Thomas Jr said his was very confident in the ability of both local men’s teams.

“Our teams have been playing together for a while now just like a few other teams, but we have the added experience of being regular participants on the NORCECA Tour as well as having Whitfield and Williams reached as far as the semifinal stage of the London Olympicqualifiers four years ago”, said Thomas Jr.

However, the local men are not expected to have an easy ride to the finals and a top six finish as other notable line-ups include Bahamians Renaldo Knowles, Mullet Petit, Princtanique Wilson and  Byron Ferguson; Mark Lewis, Donovan Larry Richards, Ryck Mc Kenzie-Webb and  Christopher Walters (Jamaica) and Barbadians Daran Gill, Sheldon Roach, Winston Gittens, Elwyn Oxley.

Due to the late arrival to T&T of most of the teams, the Preliminary Inquiry to be conducted by the Control Committee headed by Tournament Director Arnaldo Sanchez was due to take place on last night at the Cascadia Hotel & Conference Centre, to be followed by the Technical Meeting at the same venue.

The ECVA held it first round qualifiers two weeks ago with St Lucia emerging as champions ahead of  Antigua & Barbuda, St Kitts/Nevis, Dominica, St Vincent and The Grenadines, and Dutch St Marteen. For the tournament, each team will compete under a country versus country format in a best-of-three series with a “Golden Set” up to 15 points or a two-point advantage in case of a tied series.

Daymian Stewart, President of the T&T Volleyball Federation was quick to point out that his federation was very proud to do its part in the development of the sport by hosting one leg of the Olympic qualifiers. However, he also highlighted the fact that it was no coincident that the top three countries at the women’s qualifiers in Jamaica last weekend are the same countries hosting Beach Volleyball events in Jamaica, Cayman Islands and T&T.

He added, “It’s also a momentous occasion for CAZOVA, and it’s the first single event in which all its 14 members will participate.” Stewart also saluted the support of all the sponsors that have come aboard for the event and made special commendation to the T&T Olympic Committee (T&TOC), and its President Brian Lewis for its full support.

Among the sponsors who have come on board to make the tournament a success are KFC, FLOW, Tourism Development Company (TDC), Toyota, Sport Company of T&T (Sportt), Caribbean Zonal Volleyball Association (CAZOVA), North, Central American and Caribbean (NORCECA) and the T&T Olympic Committee (TTOC) in partnership with the T&T Volleyball Federation.