What's new with Team TTO

July 10, 2020


Following the successful SIGA-Soccerex Webinar on the topic, “Football For All,” the Sport Integrity Global…
July 09, 2020

Lewis: Reinstate Munich Games 400m medallists Matthews, Collett

Caribbean National Olympic Committees (CANOC) president Brian Lewis is calling for the rescinding of a…
July 07, 2020

A sports-base approach is needed to help the youth

Last week, Trinidad and Tobago faced its own Black Lives Matter (BLM) day of reckoning.…
July 07, 2020

CANOC President calls for IOC to rescind life bans issued to athletes 48 years after…

Caribbean National Olympic Committees (CANOC) President Brian Lewis has called for the International Olympic Committee…
July 04, 2020

Matthews and Collett Banned From Olympics

MUNICH, West Germany, Sept. 8 — The International Olympic Committee barred today two United States…
July 04, 2020

Vincent Matthews and Wayne Collett: A Most Casual Protest With Most Striking Consequences

They stood there casually, one barefoot, hands on hips, the other in thoughtful repose, right…
July 04, 2020

Athletes Will Be Banned From Protesting at the 2020 Tokyo Olympics. But the Games Have…

The International Olympic Committee (IOC) announced new guidelines on Thursday that ban athletes from making…

Tokyo 2021 #1YearToGo

Logo TOKYO 2020 International Olympic Committee
Logo Omega Offical Timekeeper

Cartan Global | Tokyo 2021

Welcome to the Olympic Channel Live

Team TTO on Facebook

Team TTO on Twitter

Team Elite Suits Up for Friday Afternoon Time Trial in San Diego https://t.co/0AUQ471VQK via @swimswamnews
Thursday, 09 July 2020 23:18
TeamTTO Transformational Leadership Webinar Pt. 3 with the lecturer Sport Management, UTT Mr. Stacey Cateau ▶️… https://t.co/MKYVbDMBEA
Thursday, 09 July 2020 15:28
Lewis: Reinstate Munich Games 400m medallists Matthews, Collett https://t.co/XPaRfGugLX
Thursday, 09 July 2020 14:20
A sports-base approach is needed to help the youth https://t.co/jPhFCNcTH0
Wednesday, 08 July 2020 19:07

TeamTTO on Instagram



TRINIDAD and Tobago will be represented by its largest Olympic contingent in history, as 32 athletes in eight disciplines will compete at the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil from August 5-21.

The Rio 2016 team surpasses the 2012 London Olympic Games team which had 31 athletes. The 2016 team was officially announced yesterday by Chef De Mission Dr Ian Hypolite at a press conference held at the TT Olympic House, Abercromby Street, Port of Spain.

As usual, TT will be well represented in athletics as 24 athletes will vie for medals at the Games.

The team includes women’s shot put athlete Cleopatra Borel who will be competing in her fourth Olympic Games, while Keshorn Walcott will be aiming to defend his men’s javelin title.

The trio of Rondel Sorillo, Michelle- Lee Ahye and Semoy Hackett will be busy at the Games competing in three events each. Sorillo will line up in the men’s 100-metre, 200m and 4x100m relay events, while Ahye and Hackett will compete in the women’s 100m, 200m and 4x100m relay events.

TT will also be represented in the disciplines of boxing (Nigel Paul), cycling (Njisane Phillip), artistic gymnastics (Marisa Dick), judo (Christopher George), rowing (Felice Aisha Chow), sailing (Andrew Lewis) and swimming (Dylan Carter, George Bovell III).

Minister of Sport and Youth Affairs Darryl Smith stated, “I was very pleased to hear from the (TTO C) team that we are actually going to field the most athletes ever in the history of TT in the Olympics.

Also the Paralympics as well, they are also going to have the most number of athletes attending the Paralympics.” He added, “this is the first time we have had so many female athletes on the team.” Eleven women will represent TT at the Olympics.

TT will be represented at the Paralympic Games in Rio from September 7-18 by Akeem Stewart (athletics), Shanntol Ince (swimming) and Nyoshia Cain (athletics).

President of the TT Paralympic Committee Sudhir Ramessar expressed optimism. He stated, “I am very confident to tell you all today, we will be coming back with medals.” TT OLYMPIC TEAM - ATHLETICS - Men: Richard Thompson - 100m, 4x100m relay; Rondel Sorillo - 100m, 200m, 4x100m relay; Keston Bledman - 100m, 4x100m relay; Kyle Greaux - 200m, 4x100m relay; Emmanuel Callender - 4x100m relay; Marcus Duncan - 4x100m relay; Mikel Thomas - 110m hurdles; Jehue Gordon - 400m hurdles; Machel Cedenio - 400m, 4x400m relay; Lalonde Gordon - 400m, 4x400m relay; Deon Lendore - 400m, 4x400m relay; Jarrin Solomon - 4x400m relay; Renny Quow - 4x400m relay; Jereem Richards - 4x400m relay; Keshorn Walcott - javelin.

Women: Michelle-Lee Ahye - 100m, 200m, 4x100m relay; Semoy Hackett - 100m, 200m, 4x100m relay; Kelly Ann Baptiste - 100m, 4x100m relay; Reyare Thomas - 200m, 4x100m relay; Khalifa St Fort - 4x100m relay; Kai Selvon - 4x100m relay; Janeil Bellille - 400m hurdles; Sparkle Mc Knight - 400m hurdles; Cleopatra Borel - shot put.

Officials: George Commissiong (manager), Ian Carter (coach), Ismael Lopez- Mastrapa, Gunness Persad, Nic Connor Alexander, Charles Joseph.

BOXING - Nigel Paul - super heavyweight category; Reynold Cox (manager), Floyd Trumpet (coach).

CYCLING - Njisane Phillip - sprint; David Francis (manager), Elisha Greene (mechanic).

ARTISTIC GYMNASTICS - Marisa Dick; Anita Pelletier (coach).

JUDO - Christopher George; Mark Littrean (manager/ coach).

ROWING - Felice Aisha Chow - Single Scull; Merryl See Tai (manager).

SAILING - Andrew Lewis - Laser; Kairon Serrette (manager), Bruno Fontes (coach).

SWIMMING - Dylan Carter - 100m freestyle, George Bovell III - 50m freestyle; George Bovell II (manager), Roland Schoeman (coach).

TEAM MANAGEMENT - Dr Ian Hypolite (chef de mission), Lovie Santana (administration).

MEDICAL - Dr Terry Ali (chief medical officer), Dr Anyl Gopeesingh, Dr Tonya Welch, Dr Margaret Ottley, Ian Sharpe, Zephyrinus Nicholas, Brent Elder, Nicole Fuentes, Alexander Gibbons, Verne Alleyne, Abdel Muriada.

TT PARALYMPIC TEAM - Athletes: Akeem Stewart (F43 javelin, F43 discus), Shanntol Ince (swimming - event not yet confirmed), Nyoshia Cain (T44 100m, T44 200m).

Officials: Judy Beckles (chef de mission), Wade Franklyn (athletics coach), Karen Araujo (swimming coach), Dr Kerry Dollaway (physiotherapist), Sudhir Ramessar (TT Paralympic Committee president).