Online Periodization Workshop - Registration

What's new with Team TTO

June 06, 2020

Loving the rivalry Greaux wants revenge on Richards at 2021 Champs

Kyle Greaux and Jereem “The Dream” Richards are Trinidad and Tobago teammates. The 200-metre sprinters…
June 06, 2020

What is the colour of power?

I hadn’t intended to write a word; my feelings were raw and I felt that…
June 06, 2020

Power over pain Baptiste, Greaux push past the lactic

The pain associated with lactic acid build up in the muscles is all too familiar…
June 03, 2020

Do not flinch in the face of adversity

Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley’s announcement that phase three of the reopening of the T&T…
June 03, 2020

An open letter to sport #BlackLivesMatter

Citizens across the world have mobilised to stand up for equal rights, for freedom, fairness,…
June 02, 2020

Rolf Bartolo - A man of integrity

Tributes keep pouring in for Rolf Bartolo from different quarters in Trinidad and Tobago. On…
June 01, 2020

Lewis: Sport can be key in covid19 recovery

BRIAN LEWIS, president of the TT Olympic Committee (TTOC), says that sports can play a…

Tokyo 2021 #1YearToGo

Logo TOKYO 2020 International Olympic Committee
Logo Omega Offical Timekeeper

Cartan Global | Tokyo 2021

Welcome to the Olympic Channel Live

Team TTO on Facebook

Team TTO on Twitter

Loving the rivalry Greaux wants revenge on Richards at 2021 Champs
About 14 hours ago
What is the colour of power?
About 14 hours ago
Power over pain Baptiste, Greaux push past the lactic
About 14 hours ago
Repost @nicholasleepaul 🙏🏽🇹🇹 ・・・ Soon we’ll be back. 🚴🏽‍♂️
Thursday, 04 June 2020 22:52

TeamTTO on Instagram



ALISTAIR ESPINOZA and Avril Marcelle claimed the respective Senior Male and Female Player of the Year accolades on Saturday evening, as the Trinidad and Tobago Badminton Association (TTBA) held their second annual awards function at the Central Regional Indoor Sports Arena, Saith Park, Chaguanas on Saturday evening.

Espinoza got the nod, ahead of Nicholas Bonkowski, Rahul Rampersad, Will Lee, Jason Ramjass and Justin Sui.

During the 2015 season, he claimed four local titles, in addition to a runner-up and thirdplaced finish. He also secured one regional bronze medal and two international bronze medals.

Marcelle was adjudged the top female player based on her accomplishments this year — two silver medals and three bronze medals at local tournaments, as well as one regional bronze medal, one silver international medal and two bronze international medals.

Also in the reckoning for the top female player (senior) were Solangel Guzman, Jada Renales, Leanna Castanada and Kamasha Robertson.

As far as the Junior Male and Female Players of the Year were concerned, Lee and Renales walked away with the respective prizes.

Lee, who overcame the challenges of Jerome Charles, Renaldo Sinanan, Vnace Juteram, Travis Sinanan and Leon Cassie, claimed seven local titles (as well as two silver and one bronze) and, at the international level, one silver and one bronze medal.

Renales had a haul of nine local titles, a silver and a bronze medal while, at the regional scene, she got a silver and three bronze medals. Other candidates for the top junior female player were Ananda Ramsingh, Sonja Cassie and Chequeda De Boulet.

The Newsday newspaper earned a special recognition for supporting the Badminton Association during the year - both financially and in terms of coverage during the inaugural Trinidad and Tobago International Tournament, which was staged at the Eastern Regional Indoor Sports Arena in Tacarigua.

Other Awards Most Outstanding Players - Travis Sinanan (Under-11 Male), Sonja Cassie (Under-11 Female), Zion St Rose (Under- 13 Male), Sonja Cassie (Under-13 Female), Leon Cassie (Under-15 Male), Chequeda De Boulet (Under-15 Female), Renaldo Sinanan (Under-17 Male), Ananda Ramsingh (Under-17 Female).

Most Improved Male - Vance Juteram Most Improved Female - Chequeda De Boulet Most Local Wins (Male) - Will Lee Most Local Wins (Female) - Jada Renales